Skip to: main navigation | main content | sitemap | accessibility page


How to migrate from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001

What is ISO 45001?

ISO 45001 is a new international standard for the management of safety & occupational health at work that takes a process approach to the management of safety risks. The new standard encourages a top-down approach that requires senior management to show real safety leadership and works at a much more strategic level than the out-going OHSAS 18001. ISO 45001, which was published in March 2018, has been written around the standard template for all new ISO standards that is Annex SL. This means that it will use a predictable and tested format.

Format of ISO 45001

  1. Scope
  2. Normative References
  3. Terms and Definitions
  4. Context of the Organization
  5. Leadership
  6. Planning
  7. Support
  8. Operation
  9. Performance Evaluation
  10. Continual Improvement

What should you be doing now for transition?

Organisations that are certified to OHSAS 18001 will need to revise their safety management systems according to the requirements of the new standard within a three year period that that ends in March 2021.  They will then need to be reassessed by their Certification Body.  This is a process known as transition.

We recommend that organisations with OHSAS 18001 should carry out a gap analysis and to start the transition to ISO 45001 as soon as possible. You will still need to conform to OHSAS 18001 until the transition assessment by your Certification Body but, from our experience of transition to ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015, the two standards can easily live together.

We are offering a gap analysis template to help you with the transition from OHSAS 18001. The template is a free download from here: ISO 45001 gap analysis checklist

Please contact us if you want to discuss your transition or if you feel some expert help would make the transition easier.