Skip to: main navigation | main content | sitemap | accessibility page


How to migrate from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001

What is ISO 45001?

ISO 45001 is the international standard for the management of safety & occupational health at work that takes a process approach to the management of safety risks. The new standard encourages a top-down approach that requires senior management to show real safety leadership and works at a much more strategic level than the out-going OHSAS 18001. ISO 45001, which was published in March 2018, has been written around the standard template for all new ISO standards that is Annex SL. This means that it uses a predictable and tested format that can be integrated easily with the ISO 9001 & ISO 14001 quality & environmental standards.

Format of ISO 45001

  1. Scope
  2. Normative References
  3. Terms and Definitions
  4. Context of the Organization
  5. Leadership
  6. Planning
  7. Support
  8. Operation
  9. Performance Evaluation
  10. Continual Improvement

What should you be doing now for transition?

Organisations that are already certified to OHSAS 18001 will need to revise their safety management systems according to the requirements of the new standard within a transition period that ends in September 2021.  They will then need to be reassessed by their Certification Body.  This is a process known as Migration.

We recommend that organisations with OHSAS 18001 should carry out a gap analysis and to start the migration to ISO 45001 as soon as possible. You will still need to conform to OHSAS 18001 until you have passed the migration assessment by your Certification Body but, from our experience of transition to ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015, the two standards can easily live together.

We are offering a gap analysis template to help you with the migration from OHSAS 18001. The template is a free download from here: ISO 45001 gap analysis checklist

Please contact us if you want to discuss your transition or if you feel some expert help would make the transition easier.